Coming Out

I came out publicly on the October 11th: National Coming Out Day. I put a post on Facebook, a bit cliche I’m sure, but I don’t really care about that. I am thankful that everyone was so supportive (at least the people who made any comments).

Today my Dad called. I had not told him before I had posted, and today was the first time that I had talked to him since then. He said that he didn’t care what I was, and that he loved me. I am thankful that he didn’t make a big deal, but I am even more grateful that that he was so accepting.

I doubt he completely understands; I doubt that anyone outside the ace community could ever really understand. Mostly I am glad to have so much support. I know that there are a lot of people who don’t have nearly as much.

One thought on “Coming Out

  1. That is much like what my experience was too! I made a Facebook post and came out quite publicly. People were supportive but I’m sure they didn’t fully “get” what it really meant and there were only a select few people that I had more in depth conversations or private message threads with where I could properly explain what it meant for me and clear up misconceptions. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment